Day 1 – My Rough Start…

My First 4 Days of the 30 Day My Yoga Body Challenge are officially complete! Yes, I’m completely excited.  I expected to pass out and die by Day 3. LOL

Here is my Day 1….

Day 1 – Friday, May 22, 2015

I haven’t taken part of a yoga class since October 2014; 7 months with no mat practice.  So, why did I think I could jump into a heated yoga class, give my all, and not feel sick?  Hmm, because as usual, I didn’t really think it through. My first day of the 30 day challenge I decided to take a heated Power Vinyasa class.  Why?  Well, because it’s my favorite of all the classes! I was super excited to be back and went prepared; water, yoga mat, and towel.

The first 20 minutes I struggled to keep focused on the class. My mind was everywhere, except on what was going on at that moment.  Once I was able to anchor myself enough to enjoy the actual class, I started to feel the pain in the positions, the heat felt suffocating, and I felt woozy. I drank a bit of water and relaxed in child’s pose for a few moments.  I attempted to resume the class but I felt more woozy and felt like tossing up my lunch! I decided to lower my intensity and work at about 70% instead of at full capacity. I wanted to make it through the entire hour.

The instructor shared words with us that day… to paraphrase it was – Surrender to your life as it is today.  Show up, do the work, grow, and expand.  She mentioned that some days you will be able to do it all and other days not as much.  But it is part of your practice.  I took the words to heart.  Why? Well, I’m a bit hard on myself when I am not able to accomplish a specific task.  I felt frustrated during the class; unable to concentrate, unable to go through the course without rest, unable to hold simple poses.  But the instructors words helped me at that moment to understand that yoga is just like our daily lives.  One day things are great and another day things can be a bit rough.  We can’t stop living our life just because of a bad day.  And I couldn’t allow myself to be discouraged because of a rough starting day.

“Accepting means you allow yourself to feel whatever it is you are feeling at that moment. It is part of the isness of the Now. You can’t argue with what is. Well, you can, but if you do, you suffer.” 

~ Eckhart Tolle 

Leave a Reply

